Salut! Baroque has delighted Australian audiences for 29 years in presenting the best of baroque with Australia’s finest baroque musicians. Led by artistic directors Sally Melhuish and Tim Blomfield, the ensemble performs annual subscription series concerts in Canberra and Sydney. Our eleventh CD, From Paris to Versailles, will be released this year.

Meet the Artistic Directors

Sally Melhuish

Sally is one of Australia’s foremost recorder players. She graduated with a Masters degree from Amsterdam Conservatorium and a Bachelor of Music degree from ANU Canberra School of Music. Her teachers have included Daniel Brüggen, Marijke Miessen and Walter van Hauwe. She has performed as soloist with the Australian Chamber Orchestra, Cantus Cölln, Sinfonia Australis, Orchestra of the Antipodes and the Australian Bach Ensemble. She has been director of the Harvard Baroque Chamber Orchestra, performed at the Spa Summer Festival in Belgium and features as a soloist on the ABC Classics recording of Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos. Sally has received a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for her contribution to Baroque Music.

Tim Blomfield

As a natural extension of being an historically-informed cellist, Tim is Australia’s leading proponent of the bass violin. His fascination with baroque cello began in 1984, as a graduate of the Sydney Conservatorium. Tim explored this interest further with Jaap ter Linden at the Royal Conservatorium, The Hague, and in masterclasses with Anner Bijlsma, the three Kuijken brothers and Hidemi Suzuki. Tim enjoys producing urtext editions of unpublished 17th & 18th century scores, many of which are used for Salut! Baroque performances. And with a unique gut-strung Cello Duo Cellissimo, he performs 18th & 19th century works. Having recommenced pipe organ study, Tim was recently successful in his ABRSM examination.

Performing with Salut!

Australia’s finest musicians join Salut!: Hans Dieter Michatz, Ella Bennetts, Meg Cohen, Heather Lloyd,  John Ma, Jack Peggie, Anna Fraser, Sally Walker, Jane Downer, Monika Kornel, Will Hansen, Alana Blackburn, Alicia Crossley, Bridgitte Holden, Rachael Beesley, Julia Russoniello and Karina Schmitz and many more.